医疗方案

前交叉韧带重建术

前交叉韧带重建术

作为一名资深的骨科运动外科医生,我治疗过各类型患有前交叉韧带损伤的运动员—无论是年轻人或年长者,世界级高手或业余的。本文将帮助您在面对交叉韧带损伤问题时,做出最明智的决定。

什么是前交叉韧带撕裂?
我遇到的大多数病患都听说过前交叉韧带,也认识一些前交叉韧带撕裂的运动员,但他们都不确定前交叉韧带到底是什么或位于身体的哪个部位。它其实是膝关节的主要韧带(绳状结构)之一。

前交叉韧带位于膝盖中间,它将大腿骨(股骨)连接到胫骨,并阻止胫骨向前滑动和过度旋转。如果您的前交叉韧带撕裂,您在进行踢足球、打篮球、打网球、玩橄榄球或练习武术等运动时,任何需要突然转换方向,像是侧移或旋转的动作,都可能让您的膝盖撑不住。

大多数向我问诊的病患都是因为在训练或比赛时突然扭转膝盖,遭到非接触性损伤,才导致前交叉韧带撕裂。足球运动员在远距离交叉传球时,也会因立着的腿受到太大的压力而产生同样的问题。

对那些正在阅读此内容的女运动员们,这里有个坏消息:由于女性的双膝在对齐、大小和形状方面并不一致,因此她们前交叉韧带撕裂的风险会更大。

前交叉韧带撕裂的运动员通常会感觉到 “砰”的一声,然后膝盖突然肿胀(基于韧带撕裂出血)。另外,有一个关键性的症状:由于膝盖疼痛,病患无法立刻行走或继续运动。当膝盖肿胀最终消退时,病患会感觉膝盖不稳定,甚至撑不住,造成病患根本无法进行他们最热爱的运动。

我总会问病患很多关于他们是如何受伤的细节,然后仔细地检查他们的膝盖,才会做出前交叉韧带撕裂的诊断。可以迅速安排MRI(磁共振成像)扫描来确定病患前交叉韧带撕裂的位置,并排除其他损伤问题,如半月板撕裂。

一些著名的运动家也有过前交叉韧带撕裂的问题。其中包括:Zlatan Ibrahimovich, Ruud Van Nistelrooy, Francesco Totti, Paul Gascoigne, Alan Shearer, Tom Brady, Tiger Woods, Jamal Crawford, 和 Derrick Rose。如果您也遇到类似的问题,您并不是在孤军作战。另一个好消息是:这些运动员都能够在接受前交叉韧带重建术后,成功地继续他们的职业运动生涯。通过正确的治疗,您也可以像他们一样!

撕裂的前交叉韧带能自行愈合吗?
前交叉韧带通常无法很好地自行愈合,因为它缺乏良好的血液供应。好比一根绳子,如果中间完全撕裂,绳子的两端很难自然地接驳,更何况膝盖一直都处于移动的状态。然而,如果有些运动员只是部分前交叉韧带撕裂,只要关节稳定性高、所参与的运动不涉及突然扭转的动作(如棒球),他们就能回返运动场上。

前交叉韧带重建手术是否是唯一的治疗选择?
前交叉韧带重建术是指用 “组织移植物”(通常由大腿内侧的肌腱构成)完全替代已撕裂的前交叉韧带,从而为膝盖提供稳定性。对那些在前交叉韧带撕裂后膝关节不稳定,也无法参加体育活动的运动员来说,这是所推荐的治疗方法。

考虑动手术之前,您应该先咨询外科医生所推荐的专业物理治疗师,并接受物理治疗。这有助于您的膝盖恢复全方位动作和力量,同时也可以让骨伤获得缓解。一些医生还认为,根据X光检查发现,前交叉韧带重建术与早期关节炎(退行性变化)的风险较低有关。1

前交叉韧带修复则是一种新的治疗方法,适用于某些类型的撕裂。医生会通过一种被称为内支撑的装置,将撕裂后的前交叉韧带末端重新连接到大腿骨上。然而,大多数的前交叉韧带撕裂并不适合这种直接修复的方法。病患完成修复后,再进行翻修手术的机率很高(在一些论文中提到,8个病例中就有1例)。目前,有许多关于利用干细胞和富含血小板血浆来帮助前交叉韧带愈合的研究。可是,这些技术仍处于实验阶段,“黄金标准”治疗依然是前交叉韧带重建手术。2

谁能从前交叉韧带重建手术中获益最多?
我会建议膝关节不稳定的病患和下列人士进行前交叉韧带重建:
  • 所参与的运动涉及旋转或转动动作的活跃成年病患。
  • 所从事的工作需要大量体力,并涉及旋转或转动动作的活跃成年病患。
  • 年龄较大(如50岁以上)并参与精英运动,以及膝盖没有退行性变化的病患。
  • 患有前交叉韧带撕裂的儿童或青少年。可采用经调整的技术来降低生长板受伤的风险。
  • 膝盖除了前交叉韧带撕裂还有其他损伤的运动员,如后交叉韧带损伤(PCL)、侧副韧带损伤(LCL)、半月板损伤和软骨损伤。尤其是一些半月板撕裂的病患,如果他能同时进行修复前交叉韧带,效果会更好。

新加坡有哪些不同类型的前交叉韧带重建手术?
所有重建手术都使用“移植物”或移植组织来替换撕裂的前交叉韧带。这些移植物就包括:

  1. 腿筋肌腱 – 可轻易在手术中通过小切口从膝盖内侧获取(自体移植)。亦可用他人捐献的肌腱来替换撕裂的前交叉韧带(同种异体移植)。关节超灵活(过度松弛)、内侧副韧带(MCL)非常松或腿筋肌腱很小的运动员可能更合适同种异体移植或髌腱移植(请见下文)。
  2. 髌腱 - 病患的髌腱中1/3,以及来自胫骨和膝盖骨的骨塞,可用于髌腱自体移植。它与肌腱移植一样有效,但具有较高的膝盖疼痛风险,尤其是病患在跪下和有膝盖骨折时。病患的膝盖前部也会有一个较大的伤疤。
  3. 膝内侧入路和胫骨定位股骨隧道技术 - 前交叉韧带重建手术一开始,外科医生会在胫骨到股骨之间钻一道形成直线的骨隧道(胫骨隧道)。这意味着,大腿骨中的骨隧道并不是原来的前交叉韧带所在的位置。相比之下,外科医生在使用内侧入路技术时,会尝试将骨隧道和移植物尽可能离前交叉韧带的原始位置(解剖位置)近些。一些外科医生认为,使用胫骨定位股骨隧道术会导致病患膝关节的旋转不稳定性和翻修率升高。3
  4. 全内侧/移植物连接技术 - 全内侧技术使用反向钻孔的方式,减少需从膝盖移除的骨骼。重建前交叉韧带时,也只需一根腿筋来制造移植物。其基本原理是,与传统方法相比,这种方法可能更具微创性,所造成的疼痛更小。
  5. 单束与双束 - 一些外科医生会尝试通过在膝盖骨上钻4个孔而不是2个孔的方式来重建两束前交叉韧带。单束或双束前交叉韧带重建的结果并没有显著的差异–医生使用这两种方法都能获得令人满意的结果。5
  6. 保留生长板 - 患前交叉韧带损伤的儿童或青少年的生长板仍处开放期,直到女生约14岁左右,男生约16岁左右才闭合。使用标准的前交叉韧带重建技术(经椎体)可能会损伤生长板并阻止骨骼生长(生长停滞)。进行治疗前,外科医生应该检查病患的生长板,或者等病患发育完毕,又或是使用一种特殊的技术来避免碰到生长板(骨膜或外膜)。

我受伤后,进行前交叉韧带重建手术的最佳时机是什么?
您在受伤后的几周内进行手术最为理想。6延迟手术6个月或以上,会提高损伤膝关节的软骨和半月板等其他结构的风险。7,8动手术之前,最好是您已经接受过物理治疗,以减少肿胀和恢复全方位动作,并加强了股四头肌(前大腿肌肉)的力量。

前交叉韧带重建手术的过程为何?
  • 手术过程中,您将接受全身麻醉并进入沉睡状态。
  • 我会在膝盖前部做两个小孔切口,膝盖内侧做另一个小孔切口,以利用您的腿筋来制造新的韧带。这属微创手术。
  • 之后,我会用小型相机(关节镜)彻底观察膝盖,并在前交叉韧带所处的大腿骨和胫骨位置钻一些小隧道。
  • 要取得良好的疗效,这些隧道的位置很重要。
  • 然后,我会把腿筋移植物穿过隧道,并用金属纽扣和塑料螺钉将其固定。
  • 整个过程大约一个小时。
  • 手术后当天,您已可以用拐杖行走。
  • 在我接受培训的英国和澳大利亚,大多数的病患可以在手术当天出院。
前交叉韧带重建手术后的康复过程是怎样的?
  • 病患动手术后,会觉得膝盖疼痛,但医生会开强力止痛药给他。
  • 手术结束后,您可以立即利用拐杖让自己站立和行走。
  • 有些病患的身体状态甚至良好到当天便可出院。
  • 手术后应尽快接受物理治疗。这点很重要。
  • 您可能需要使用拐杖长达6周时间
  • 您可以在2周后回返办公室工作。
  • 但若您的工作涉及很多体力劳动,那么您将需要更长的时间才能回到工作岗位。
  • 恢复体育活动可能需要等6至12个月,一般上是9个月

有些人康复得很快,有些人则需要更长的时间。职业运动员至少需要一年时间才能恢复之前的水平。如果您太早回到运动场上,重建的前交叉韧带再次撕裂的风险会增加。

接受前交叉韧带重建手术后能期待多大的改善?
根据一项涉及7556名曾接受前交叉韧带重建术病患的大规模研究,大多数的病患能够回到运动场上(81%)。三分之二的病患能够恢复到伤前比赛水平,55%的病患则能够恢复到精英水平。

总结
如果您的前交叉韧带撕裂,膝盖缺乏稳定性,那么前交叉韧带重建会是一个很好的治疗方案。国际骨科诊所将致力于帮助您找到适合的方法,让您恢复体育活动并享受其中。

参考资料:
  1. Jomha NM等人。《膝关节前交叉韧带重建后的长期骨关节炎变化》1999年1月;(358):188-93。
  2. Mahapatra P等人。《前交叉韧带修复-过去,现在和未来》J Exp Orthop. 2018 Dec; 5: 20. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6002325/
  3. Duffee A等人。《胫骨定位股骨隧道的准备增加了重复性同侧膝关节手术的几率》J Bone Joint Surg Am. 2013 Nov 20;95(22):2035-42
  4. Sprowls GR, Robin BN等人。《采用全软组织股四头肌移植物来进行全内侧前交叉韧带重建微创手术的四连杆技术应用》Arthrosc Tech. 2018 Jul 16;7(8):e845-e852.
  5. Mayr HO等人。《单束与双束前交叉韧带重建-5年结果》Arthroscopy. 2018 Sep;34(9):2647-2653.
  6. Manandhar RR等人。《早期前交叉韧带重建与延迟重建的功能结果比较:我们白等了吗?》J Clin Orthop Trauma。2018年4月- 6日;9(2):163-166。
  7. Kay J等人。《早期前交叉韧带重建可降低儿童和青少年内侧半月板和关节软骨的损伤风险:系统性回顾和荟萃分析》Knee Surg Sports Traumatol Arthrosc. 2018 Jun 6
  8. Taketomi S等人。《重建前交叉韧带以防止相关半月板和软骨损伤的手术时机》。J Orthop Sci. 2018 May;23(3):546-551
  9. Ardern CL等人。《55%的人在前交叉韧带重建手术后重返竞技体育:一项最新的系统性回顾和荟萃分析,包括身体功能和相关因素。》Br J Sports Med 2014; 48:1543.
饱受运动伤害的疼痛煎熬?

张天龙医生是一名骨外科顾问医生,擅长医治运动损伤,如韧带和肌腱撕裂,膝、髋和肩的软骨损伤,成人关节重建(包括全膝和部分膝关节置换术),骨关节炎的全髋关节置换术,以及机器人手术(MAKOplasty、Navio和Robodoc系统)。他也在创伤(修复骨折)和骨关节肌肉肿瘤(骨癌)手术方面受过广泛的专业培训。

Top

proceduresACL Reconstruction

Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) Reconstruction

As an experienced Orthopaedic Sports Surgeon I have treated all types of athletes - young and old, world class and amateur, with ACL injuries. This article will help you make the most-informed decision possible regarding the management of an ACL injury.

What is an ACL tear?
Most patients I meet have heard of the ACL, and know athletes that have suffered an ACL tear, but are not exactly sure what or where it is. ACL stands for Anterior Cruciate Ligament. It is one of the main ligaments (rope like structure) in the knee.

The ACL sits in the middle of the knee and attaches the thigh bone (femur) to the shin bone (tibia). It stops the shin bone from sliding forward and rotating excessively. If your ACL is torn then your knee may buckle and give way during movements that require a sudden change in direction, like sidestepping or pivoting, e.g. during football, basketball, netball, rugby or martial arts.

Most patients that I see that I see with an ACL tear have had a non-contact injury that occurred when they were turning on their knee suddenly during training or a match. In footballers this can occur when they place excessive pressure on their standing leg when performing a crossfield pass.

Unfortunately for female athletes reading this, you are at greater risk for an ACL tear, due to differences in alignment, size and shape of your knees.

Athletes who tear their ACL often feel a ‘pop’ and their knee may swell suddenly (as the torn ligament bleeds). A key feature is that they are immediately unable to walk or continue playing due to pain. When the knee swelling eventually subsides their knee may feel unstable or even give way, and they are unable to play their favourite sports.

I always ask a lot of questions about how exactly the injury occurred and carefully examine the knee to make the diagnosis of an ACL tear. An MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) scan can swiftly be arranged to identify an ACL tear and rule out other injuries such as a meniscal tear.

Famous athletes who have suffered an ACL tear include Zlatan Ibrahimovich, Ruud Van Nistelrooy, Francesco Totti, Paul Gascoigne, Alan Shearer, Tom Brady, Tiger Woods, Jamal Crawford, and Derrick Rose to name but a few. So if you have an ACL tear then you are in excellent company, and the good news is that all these athletes were able to resume their playing careers successfully after an ACL reconstruction. With the right treatment so can you!

Can the torn ACL heal on its own?
The ACL usually does not heal well on its own because it does not have a good blood supply. I liken it to a rope, and if completely torn in the middle, it is difficult for the rope ends to come together to heal, particularly as the knee is moving all the time. However some athletes are able to return to sports if they only have a partial ACL tear, minimal instability or play sports that do not involve sudden turning movements (e.g. baseball).

Is ACL reconstruction surgery my only treatment option?
ACL reconstruction is when the torn ACL is completely replaced by a tissue “graft” (usually made of hamstring tendons which sit behind the inner thigh) to provide stability to the knee. It is the recommended treatment option for athletes who have knee instability following an ACL tear, and are unable to play sports.

It is worth seeing a good physiotherapist on the recommendation of your surgeon, and undergo rehab before considering surgery. This allows your knee to regain full range of movement and strength, as well as allow bone bruising to settle. Some doctors have also argued that ACL reconstruction is associated with a lower risk of early arthritis (degenerative change) on Xray.1

ACL repair is a newer treatment suitable for certain types of tears where the ends of the torn ACL are reattached to the thigh bone using a device called an internal brace. Most ACL tears are not suitable for direct repair and there can be a high rate of revision surgery with repair (1 in 8 patients in some papers). There are many studies on the use of stem cell and platelet rich plasma in ACL healing, but these technologies are still in an experimental stage and the “gold standard” treatment is still ACL reconstruction surgery.2

Who can benefit most from an ACL reconstruction surgery?
I recommend ACL reconstruction for patients with knee instability and:
  • Active adult patients involved in sports requiring pivoting or turning.
  • Active adult patients with jobs, particularly heavy labour, requiring pivoting or turning
  • Older patients (e.g. above 50) who compete at an elite level and do not have degenerative change in their knees
  • Children or adolescents with ACL tears - a modified technique can be used to reduce risk of injury to the growth plate.
  • Athletes with other injuries to their knees as well as ACL tear –ligaments such as the PCL (posterior cruciate ligament) LCL (lateral collateral ligament), menisci and cartilage. Particularly for some meniscus tears, a better result can be had if the repair is done at the same time as an ACL reconstruction

What are the different types of ACL reconstruction surgeries in Singapore?
All reconstruction surgeries use a ‘graft’ or transplanted tissue, to replace the torn ACL. These grafts include:

  1. Hamstrings tendons – these are easily harvested from the inside of the knee during surgery using a small incision (autograft). Alternatively donated tendon can be used to replace your torn ACL (allograft). Athletes who have very flexible joints (hyperlaxity), a very loose MCL (medial collateral ligament) or very small hamstring tendons may be more suitable for allograft or patellar tendon graft (below).
  2. Patellar tendon - The middle third of the patellar tendon of the patient, along with a bone plug from the shin and the kneecap is used in the patellar tendon autograft. It is effective as the hamstring tendon graft but has a higher risk of kneecap pain, particularly when kneeling, and fracture of the kneecap itself. There may also be a larger scar on the front of the knee.
  3. Medial portal vs Transtibial - When ACL reconstruction first began, surgeons drilled their bone tunnels in a straight line from the shinbone into the thighbone (transtibial). This means that the bone tunnel in the thighbone is not where the original ACL used to sit. In contrast using the medial portal technique, surgeons try and place the bone tunnels and graft as close to the original position of the ACL as possible (anatomical position). Some surgeons believe that using a transtibial technique can result in greater rotational instability of the knee and a higher revision rate.3
  4. All-inside / Graftlink Technique - The all-inside technique uses reverse drilling to reduce the amount of bone removed from the knee. It also needs only one hamstring to recreate the ACL graft. The rationale is that this technique may be more minimally invasive and less painful than conventional methods.
  5. Single bundle versus double bundle - Some surgeons try and recreate the two main bundles of the ACL by drilling 4 holes in the bones of your knee instead of 2. There is no major difference in results between single or double bundle ACL reconstruction – you can achieve an excellent result with either technique.5
  6. Growth plate preserving - Young children or adolescents with ACL injury may still have open growth plates. These fuse around age 14 in girls, and age 16 in boys. Using a standard technique for ACL reconstruction (transphyseal) may injure the growth plates and stop the bones from growing (growth arrest). Your surgeon should screen for growth plates and either wait until your child has stopped growing, or use a special technique to avoid the growth plate (Epiphyseal or extraphyseal)

When is the best time to go for an ACL reconstruction surgery after an injury?
Within a few weeks of injury is ideal.6 Delaying surgery for more than 6 months is associated with a higher risk of injury to other structures in the knee like cartilage and menisci.7,8 Ideally you will have undergone physiotherapy to reduce swelling, regain full range of movement and strengthen your quadriceps (front thigh muscles) before the operation.

What happens during an ACL reconstruction surgery?
  • You will have an anaesthetic and go to sleep during surgery.
  • I make 2 small keyhole incisions at the front of the knee, and another small one on the inside to harvest your hamstrings to replace your ACL. This procedure is minimally invasive.
  • I then inspect the knee thoroughly with a camera (arthroscope), and drill small tunnels in the thigh bone and shin bone where the ACL normally sits.
  • The placement of these tunnels is important to achieve a good result
  • I then pass the hamstring graft through the tunnels and secure it with a metal button and plastic screw.
  • The whole procedure takes around an hour.
  • You will be able to walk the same day after surgery with crutches.
  • In the UK and Australia where I trained, most patients can go home on the same day of surgery.
What is the recovery process like after an ACL reconstruction surgery?
  • After the surgery the knee is sore, but you’ll be given some strong painkillers.
  • You’ll be able to get up and walk straight after the surgery, with crutches
  • Some patients are well enough to go home the same day
  • It’s important to start physiotherapy soon after the operation
  • You may be on crutches for up to six weeks
  • You can return to office based work after 2 weeks.
  • If you have a physically demanding job it will take longer before you can return
  • Return to sports can be anything from 6-12 months, usually 9 months

Some people recover quickly, some take a little longer. For a professional athlete it can be at least a year before they return to sports at a similar level. If you return to sport too soon you have an increased risk of your ACL graft retearing.

How much improvement can you expect after an ACL reconstruction surgery?
According to a large study involving 7556 patients undergoing ACL recontructsion, the majority were able to return to sports (81%). Two thirds of all patients were able to return to their preinjury level of competition, and 55 percent were able to return to elite level competition.

Summary
If you have torn your ACL and have knee instability, ACL reconstruction may be an excellent solution to your problems. At International Orthopaedic Clinic (IOC) we are dedicated to helping you find your way back to playing and enjoying sports.

References:
  1. Jomha NM et al. Long-term osteoarthritic changes in anterior cruciate ligament reconstructed knees. Clin Orthop Relat Res. 1999 Jan;(358):188-93.
  2. Mahapatra P et al. Anterior cruciate ligament repair – past, present and future J Exp Orthop. 2018 Dec; 5: 20. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6002325/
  3. Duffee A et al. Transtibial ACL femoral tunnel preparation increases odds of repeat ipsilateral knee surgery. J Bone Joint Surg Am. 2013 Nov 20;95(22):2035-42
  4. Sprowls GR, Robin BN. The Quad Link Technique for an All-Soft-Tissue Quadriceps Graft in Minimally Invasive, All-Inside Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction. Arthrosc Tech. 2018 Jul 16;7(8):e845-e852.
  5. Mayr HO et al. Single-Bundle Versus Double-Bundle Anterior Cruciate Ligament Reconstruction-5-Year Results. Arthroscopy. 2018 Sep;34(9):2647-2653.
  6. Manandhar RR et al. Functional outcome of an early anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction in comparison to delayed: Are we waiting in vain? J Clin Orthop Trauma. 2018 Apr-Jun;9(2):163-166.
  7. Kay J et al. Earlier anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction is associated with a decreased risk of medial meniscal and articular cartilage damage in children and adolescents: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Knee Surg Sports Traumatol Arthrosc. 2018 Jun 6
  8. Taketomi S et al. Surgical timing of anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction to prevent associated meniscal and cartilage lesions. J Orthop Sci. 2018 May;23(3):546-551
  9. Ardern CL et al. Fifty-five per cent return to competitive sport following anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction surgery: an updated systematic review and meta-analysis including aspects of physical functioning and contextual factors. Br J Sports Med 2014; 48:1543.
Feeling Pain from Your Injuries?

Dr Alan Cheung is a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon specialising in Sports Injuries such as torn ligaments and tendons, and cartilage injury in the knee, hip and shoulder, Adult Joint Reconstruction including total and partial Knee Replacement and Total Hip Replacement for osteoarthritis, and Robotic Surgery (Makoplasty, Navio and Robodoc systems). He has also received extensive training in trauma (fixing broken bones) and musculoskeletal tumour (bone cancer) surgery.

Top