主要手术方案

机器人手术

在国际骨科诊所(IOC),我们提供最先进的治疗方法之一,即机器人手术,它主要使用最新的医疗技术来装嵌植入物,以替代部分或全部髋关节和膝关节。张天龙医生是实施机器人手术的优秀骨科外科医生,他为自己能提供这项专业技术服务而感到自豪。

什么是机器人?
机器人是一种能够完成一系列复杂动作的机器。我们可在医疗保健领域看到几种不同类型的机器人:
  • 自主型:经过编程,能在无人干预的情况下执行所设定任务
  • 半自主型:需要操作人员输入一些信息
  • 触觉型:向操作人员提供感官反馈

机器人在骨科关节置换术中的运用
每年,全球医生共实施成千上万个关节置换术来替换掉病患受磨损的髋关节或膝关节软骨。每一个植入物都被设计成以某种方式复制关节的运动,并且需要以特定的排列和旋转方式插入,以发挥最大的效用。

人类,甚至是矫形外科医生,都因为自身的经验和技术水平,而容易犯上不同程度的错误。机器人手术旨在通过提供更高的精确度和结果再现性来消除手术误差。张天龙医生懂得采用不同的机器人手术系统来置换关节,在亚洲可说是少见的专家之一。

1. MAKOPLASTY 系统
张医生在美国新泽西州马华市荷马史崔克中心获得了使用Makoplasty机器人的认证。

Makoplasty系统(Stryker)被采用于全髋关节、部分膝关节和全膝关节置换术中。Mako技术旨在协助外科医生根据具体的诊断和解剖信息,提供病患个性化的手术体验。

值得了解的是,Mako系统实际上不执行手术。张天龙医生会使用Mako系统软件预先规划病患的手术程序,然后亲自操刀动手术。

过程细节为:医生先采用CT扫描病患的受损关节,然后利用相关信息打造属于病患身体解剖结构的3D虚拟模型。接着,医生会将此虚拟模型信息上传到Mako系统软件中,作为实施病患个性化手术前的规划。

之后,张天龙医生会根据病患情况,把植入物放置在3D 图上最合适的地方1。然后,他会利用机器人手臂切除所需的确切骨量。系统所提供的触觉反馈,以及视觉和听觉提示,将有助防止他偏离预先规划的范畴。

与具标准程序的手术技术相比,机器人辅助手术意味着提供以下好处:
  • 提高手术的精准度
  • 具有再现性
  • 优化植入物的位置
  • 加强病患在关节置换术中的成功率2

至目前为止,Mako系统辅助这类手术的初期结果令人鼓舞。3在一项多间中心参与的研究中,有909个相关病例的病患接受了部分膝关节置换术,而过程中有机器人辅助医生。在手术后的2.5年,接受膝关节置换术的病患存活率为98.8%,9而2%的病患对医治好的膝关节功能感到非常满意或满意。4

2. Navio 系统
张天龙医生在美国加利福尼亚州圣地亚哥市斯克里普斯慈善医院接受了Navio系统(施乐辉)的专业训练。

Navio系统使用机器人手持毛刺来辅助医生进行部分或全部膝关节置换术。此系统与Makoplasty系统的区别在于它没有在手术前为病患做CT扫描。相反的,医生需要在受损关节的骨骼表面记下多个小点,以打造膝关节在手术中的3D图。这么做也在手术过程中创造“即时造影”。

接着,医生会根据病患的个性化手术规划,使用Navio机头去除所需的骨骼。尽管Navio设备比Makuplasty机器来的小和更轻便,但它并不提供触觉反馈。加上没有以CT扫描信息打造的3D虚拟模型。因此,医生在手术中准确地在骨骼表面上记各个小点变得至关重要。

采用Navio系统的初期结果令人鼓舞。法国的一项研究对80名使用Navio系统进行部分膝关节置换术(UKR)的病患5与80名有相同病例的病患进行比较。后者装嵌相同的植入体,但接受的是无机器人辅助的部分膝关节置换术。手术后约2年的时间内,采用Navio系统的病患有更好的肢体定位,也较少人需要进行翻修治疗。此外,医生采用Navio机器人辅助系统开刀,也提高了植入物所放位置的精确度。

3. Robodoc 系统
张天龙医生在韩国釜山的米拉医院接受了Robodoc系统的专业训练。

Robodoc系统最早用于1992年,以协助一名病患完成全髋关节置换术。它根据手术前对病患肢体进行的CT扫描,创造出3D规划图。手术过程中,医生会利用这个3D规划图,在病患的关节上做标记。这项系统与其他系统的区别在于采用的是自主型机器人。(即自行指引)

一旦张天龙医生指引机器人切割臂到骨骼表面的位置,Robodoc机器人便会在无人引导之下,自动磨除所需骨量。手术由始至终都在张天龙医生的掌控之中。必要时,他可以随时停止系统的操作。Robodoc机器人磨除所需骨量后,张天龙医生就如往常一样,亲手将关节植入物装嵌进病患体内。

有数据表明,Robodoc系统在辅助医生进行全膝关节置换6和全髋关节置换术7方面,带来一些好处。

总结
虽然实施传统的关节置换技术可以取得很好的效果,但是张医生相信机器人手术可以帮助提高准手术的准确性,并允许医生在手术前有更好的规划。此外它也产生具可靠性和结果再现性,特别是针对那些在医疗技术上极具挑战性以及需翻修手术的病例。

参考资料
  1. Roche M 等人《机器人辅助部分关节置换术:MAKO的经验》Orthop Clin North Am.2015 Jan;46(1):125-31.
  2. Werner SD等人。《机器人辅助关节置换术的准确性和有效性》Surg Technol Int. 2014 Mar;24:302-6.
  3. Deese JM等人。《患病患报告和临床结果:机器人手臂辅助单髁膝关节置换术:至少两年的随访。》J Orthop. 2018 Aug 16;15(3):847-853.
  4. Pearle AD等人。《机器人辅助部分单关节置换术的存活和病患满意度和至少随访2年。》Knee. 2017 Mar;24(2):419-428.
  5. Batailler C等人。《机器人辅助部分关节置换术改善了植入体位置,降低了翻修率》Knee Surg Sports Traumatol Arthrosc. 2018 Jul 31
  6. 廖MH等人。《早期使用DigiMatch™ROBODOC®手术系统进行机器人辅助全膝关节置换术的经验》新加坡医学杂志2014年10月;55(10):529-34。
  7. Nakamura N 等人。《无粘性全髋关节置换术机器人辅助植入与人工植入的比较》Clin Orthop Relat 2010;468(4):1072-1081。
安全注意事项(重要)

关节置换术的结果因人而异。装嵌植入物的目的是减轻病患膝关节的疼痛和改善他们膝关节的功能。然而,医生为病患装嵌关节植入物后,并不表示病患会拥有最初膝关节的功能或感觉。关节置换手术本身存在潜在风险,如关节植入物松动、受到磨损或感染,导致病患需要进行额外的手术。因此,病患在手术后,不应该进行冲击力高的活动,如跑步和跳跃,直到外科医生表示他的骨头已经愈合。如果不遵循医生所定下的活动限制,病患随时会发生植入物提早失去作用、断裂或松动的情况。

免责声明

病患的手术结果因人而异。任何手术都存在着风险,并不是每个人都适合进行关节置换术和机器人手术。儿童、孕妇、因精神或神经肌肉疾病而造成膝关节不受控病患、侵入性感染病患和病态肥胖病患并不适宜进行关节置换术或机器人手术。若您有意进行相关手术,请向咨您的外科医生了解详情,以确定自己是否真的适合动手术。

饱受运动伤害的疼痛煎熬?

张天龙医生是一名骨外科顾问医生,擅长医治运动损伤,如韧带和肌腱撕裂,膝、髋和肩的软骨损伤,成人关节重建(包括全膝和部分膝关节置换术),骨关节炎的全髋关节置换术,以及机器人手术(MAKOplasty、Navio和Robodoc系统)。他也在创伤(修复骨折)和骨关节肌肉肿瘤(骨癌)手术方面受过广泛的专业培训。

Top

key procedureRobotic Surgery

At International Orthopaedic Clinic (IOC) one of the most advanced treatments we offer is Robotic Surgery, which involves using the latest technologies to replace part or all of your hip and knee joints. Dr Alan Cheung is an expert in Robotic Surgery and is proud to provide this service to you and your family.

What is a Robot?
A robot is a machine which is can perform out a complex series of actions. There are several different types of robots in healthcare:
  • Autonomous: programmed to carry out a set task without any human intervention
  • Semi-autonomous: requiring some input from a human operator
  • Haptic: providing sensory feedback to the human operator

Robots in Orthopaedic Joint Replacement
Hundreds of thousands of joint replacements are performed worldwide every year to replace worn cartilage in knee and hips. Each implant is designed to replicate joint movement in a certain way, and need to be inserted in a certain alignment and rotation to make them function most efficiently.

Human beings, even orthopaedic surgeons, are prone to varying degrees of error, depending upon experience and skill levels. Robotic surgery aims to remove surgical errors by providing a higher degree of accuracy and reproducibility of results. Dr Alan Cheung is one of the few Surgeons in Asia to be an expert in the several robotic systems currently available for joint replacement:

1. MAKOPLASTY SYSTEM
Dr Alan Cheung was certified in the use of the Makoplasty robot at the Homer Stryker Centre in Mahwah, New Jersey, USA.

The Makoplasty system (Stryker) is used to perform total hip, partial and total knee replacements. Mako Technology was designed to help surgeons provide patients with a personalised surgical experience based on their specific diagnosis and anatomy.

It’s important to understand that the Mako system doesn’t actually perform the surgery. Surgery is performed by Dr Cheung, who uses the Mako System software to pre-plan your surgery.

The process begins with a CT scan of your joint that is used to generate a 3D virtual model of your unique anatomy. This virtual model is loaded into the Mako system software and is used to create your personalized pre-operative plan.

The implants can be positioned in any position that Dr Cheung thinks suits you best on the 3D map.1 He then uses a robotic arm to remove the exact amount of bone required. Haptic (tactile) feedback, as well as visual and auditory cues, are given to help prevent him from straying outside the preplanned area.

In comparison with standard surgical techniques, robotic-assisted surgery is purported to have the advantages of:
  • Increased surgical accuracy
  • Reproducibility
  • Optimization of component position
  • Improved patient outcomes in joint replacement procedures2

Early results so far are very promising.3 In a multicentre study, 909 knees underwent partial knee replacement using robotic-assisted surgery. There was a knee replacement survivorship of 98.8% at 2.5 years, with 92% of patients very satisfied or satisfied with their knee function.4

2. Navio System
Dr Alan Cheung underwent his training in the Navio system (Smith and Nephew) at the Scripps Mercy Hospital in San Diego, California USA.

The Navio system uses a robotic handheld burr to assist with partial and total knee replacements. The difference with this system is that there is no pre-operative CT scan. Instead, the surgeon registers a number of points on the bone of the joint surface to be operated on, creating an intraoperative 3D map of the knee joint. This enables ‘real time imaging’ during the surgery.

The Navio handpiece is used to burr away the desired bone according to a patient-specific plan. Although the Navio equipment is smaller and more portable than a Makoplasty machine, it does not provide haptic (tactile) feedback, and it is vital that the surgeon accurately registers the intraoperative points, as there is no CT-based 3D virtual model.

Early results from the Navio system are promising. A study in France looked at unicompartmental knee replacements (UKR) performed in 80 patients using the Navio system.5 These patients were matched with 80 patients undergoing UKR using the same prosthesis, implanted using a non-robotic technique. At around 2 years, the patients with Navio assisted surgery had better limb alignment and a lower revision rate. The accuracy of implant positioning is improved by the Navio robotic-assisted system.

3. Robodoc System
Dr Alan Cheung underwent his training in the Robodoc system at the Mirae Hospital in Busan, South Korea.

The Robodoc system was first used in 1992 to assist with a total hip replacement case in the United States. It relies on a preoperative CT scan of the limb to create a 3D plan, which the surgeon then uses to map regions of the joint during surgery. The difference between Robodoc and the other systems is that the robot is fully autonomous (i.e. self guided).

Once the Dr Cheung has guided the robot cutter arm to the bone surface, the Robodoc machine will automatically mill away the bone without any guidance. Dr Cheung is in control at all times and can stop the procedure at any point if required. He then manually implants the joint replacement as per usual.

There is evidence to suggest that the Robodoc system has some advantages in performing total knee replacement6 and total hip replacement7.

SUMMARY
Although excellent results can be achieved using conventional joint replacement techniques, Dr Cheung believes that robotic surgery can give increased accuracy, better preoperative planning, and reliable, reproducible results particularly in technically challenging and revision cases.

References
  1. Roche M at al. Robotic-assisted unicompartmental knee arthroplasty: the MAKO experience. Orthop Clin North Am.2015 Jan;46(1):125-31.
  2. Werner SD et al. Makoplasty and the accuracy and efficacy of robotic-assisted arthroplasty. Surg Technol Int. 2014 Mar;24:302-6.
  3. Deese JM et al. Patient reported and clinical outcomes of robotic-arm assisted unicondylar knee arthroplasty: Minimum two year follow-up. J Orthop. 2018 Aug 16;15(3):847-853.
  4. Pearle AD et al. Survivorship and patient satisfaction of robotic-assisted medial unicompartmental knee arthroplasty at a minimum two-year follow-up. Knee. 2017 Mar;24(2):419-428.
  5. Batailler C et al. Improved implant position and lower revision rate with robotic-assisted unicompartmental knee arthroplasty. Knee Surg Sports Traumatol Arthrosc. 2018 Jul 31
  6. Liow MH et al. Early experiences with robot-assisted total knee arthroplasty using the DigiMatch™ ROBODOC® surgical system. Singapore Med J.2014 Oct;55(10):529-34.
  7. Nakamura N et al. A comparison between robotic-assisted and manual implantation of cementless total hip arthroplasty. Clin Orthop Relat Res. 2010;468(4):1072-1081.
Important safety notes

Individual results of joint replacement vary. Implants are intended to relieve knee pain and improve function, but may not produce the same feel or function as your original knee. There are potential risks with joint replacement surgery such as loosening, wear and infection that may result in the need for additional surgery. Patients should not perform high impact activities such as running and jumping unless their surgeon tells them that the bone has healed and these activities are acceptable. Early device failure, breakage or loosening may occur if a surgeon's limitations on activity level are not followed.

Disclaimer

Individual results may vary. There are risks associated with any surgical procedure. Joint replacement and robotic surgery is not for everyone. Children, pregnant women, patients who have mental or neuromuscular disorders that do not allow control of the knee joint, active infection, and morbidly obese patients should not undergo a joint replacement / robotic procedure. Please consult your surgeon for details to determine if surgery is right for you.

Feeling Pain from Your Injuries?

Dr Alan Cheung is a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon specialising in Sports Injuries such as torn ligaments and tendons, and cartilage injury in the knee, hip and shoulder, Adult Joint Reconstruction including total and partial Knee Replacement and Total Hip Replacement for osteoarthritis, and Robotic Surgery (Makoplasty, Navio and Robodoc systems). He has also received extensive training in trauma (fixing broken bones) and musculoskeletal tumour (bone cancer) surgery.

Top