诊所服务骨质疏松症筛查

什么是骨质疏松症?
骨质疏松症是一种因骨密度下降,使骨折风险增加的疾病。骨质疏松症会引起脆性骨折,即轻微的跌倒或碰撞也会造成骨折的情况。脆性骨折最常发生在脊柱(椎体压缩骨折)、髋部和手腕。肱骨、肋骨和骨盆也是常见部位。其中一种最严重的骨质疏松性骨折是髋部骨折,病因可能只是摔了一跤。在2000年,全球的骨质疏松性骨折病例估计有900万起。

世界卫生组织(世卫组织)已公认双能X射线吸收法(DEXA)骨密度测量为骨质疏松症的诊断标准。随着骨密度的下降,骨折的风险也会增加。人体的骨密度通常以“T值”作为评估标准。T值相等于或小于-2.5可确诊为骨质疏松症,T值介于-1.0和-2.5之间表示骨量低下(骨量减少症),T值为-1.0或更高表示正常。

是什么原因导致骨质疏松症?
导致骨质疏松症的危险因素有很多,如老化、曾经骨折、遗传基因、体重不足、服用药物(尤其是长期口服类固醇)、患类风湿性关节炎、营养不良、吸烟、过量饮酒和不活跃的生活方式。

如何知道我是否有骨质疏松症?
由于骨质疏松症被称为“沉默”的疾病,您通常只在骨折后才会知道自己患病。

建议以下人群进行骨质疏松症检查:

  1. 所有65岁及以上的女性
  2. 所有年龄小于65岁,停经后并具骨质疏松危险因子的妇女。
  3. 65岁或以上,或具骨质疏松危险因子的男性
  4. 任何曾有脆性骨折的人

如何接受骨质疏松症筛查?
我们会安排您进行DEXA(双能X射线吸收法)扫描,测量脊椎和髋部的骨密度,从而评估骨折的风险。扫描检查需时约20分钟,费用通常在100新元左右。DEXA扫描出的T值可以用来诊断您是否患上骨质疏松症。之后,您的骨折风险系数可通过特殊的骨折风险评估工具FRAX值来计算。

如果我患有骨质疏松症该怎么办?治疗方法又有哪些?

  1. 降低骨折风险-您可立即采取一些行动来降低骨折风险。这包括:戒烟、减少饮酒量、定期锻炼身体以增强骨骼和肌肉(如快步行走或做健身运动)。
  2. 饮食-每天至少摄取1200毫克钙和1000国际单位(IU)维生素D。
  3. 血液检查-您的医生可能会安排您进行一些针对性的血液检查,以排除任何导致骨质疏松症的潜在疾病。
  4. 药物- 医生可能会开一些特殊药方,如双膦酸盐、甲状旁腺激素或地诺单抗(Denosumab),来医治您的骨质疏松症。
  5. 监测-您应该在2年内再次进行DEXA扫描。

饱受运动伤害的疼痛煎熬?

张天龙医生是一名骨外科顾问医生,擅长医治运动损伤,如韧带和肌腱撕裂,膝、髋和肩的软骨损伤,成人关节重建(包括全膝和部分膝关节置换术),骨关节炎的全髋关节置换术,以及机器人手术(MAKOplasty、Navio和Robodoc系统)。他也在创伤(修复骨折)和骨关节肌肉肿瘤(骨癌)手术方面受过广泛的专业培训。

Top

servicesScreening For Osteoporosis

What is Osteoporosis?
Osteoporosis is a disease where bone density is lost, and risk of breaking bones (fractures) increases. Fragility fractures occur in osteoporosis and are fractures that occur following a fall from standing height or less or with no trauma. The most common sites of fragility fracture are the spine (vertebral compression fractures), hip, and wrist. Fragility fractures also occur at the humerus, rib, and pelvis. One of the most serious type of fracture that can occur in osteoporosis is a hip fracture, which can occur as a result of a fall. There were an estimated nine million osteoporotic fractures worldwide in 2000.

The World Health Organization (WHO) has also defined osteoporosis based on dual-energy x-ray absorptiometry (DEXA) scan measurements. As your bone density decreases, your risk of fracture increases. Your bone density is commonly expressed as a "T-score." A T-score that is equal to or less than -2.5 is consistent with a diagnosis of osteoporosis, a T-score between -1.0 and -2.5 is classified as low bone mass (osteopenia), and a T-score of -1.0 or higher is normal.

What Causes Osteoporosis?
There are many risk factors which can lead to osteoporosis such as aging, a previous fracture, genetics, low body weight, medications (especially long term oral steroids), rheumatoid arthritis, poor nutrition, smoking, excessive alcohol intake and non-active lifestyle.

How do I know I have Osteoporosis?
As osteoporosis is known as a ‘silent’ disease, often you won’t know until you sustain a fracture.

Screening for osteoporosis is recommended in the following groups of people:

  1. All women aged 65 and older
  2. All postmenopausal women younger then 65 with risk factors for osteoporosis
  3. Men aged 65 or older, or with risk factors for osteoporosis
  4. Anyone who has sustained a fragility fracture

How can I get screening for osteoporosis?
We will arrange a screening test called a DEXA (Dual energy X-ray absorptiometry) scan, which looks at bone density at the spine and hip, and can be used to predict your risk of further fracture. This takes around 20 mins and usually costs around $100 SGD. The T-score from the DEXA scan can be used to confirm whether you have osteoporosis or not. Your risk factor for getting a fracture can then be calculated using a special tool called the FRAX SCORE (https://www.sheffield.ac.uk/FRAX)

What if I have osteoporosis? What is the treatment?

  1. Reducing risk of fracture - There are some things you can do immediately to reduce risk of fracture. These include stopping smoking, cutting down alcohol consumption, and taking part in regular exercise to strengthen bone and muscle (eg. brisk walking, gym exercises).
  2. Diet – you should eat at least 1200mg calcium and 1000 international units (IU) of vitamin D every day
  3. Blood tests – your doctor may order some special blood tests to rule out any underlying medical conditions which may be a cause of your osteoporosis.
  4. Medication – you may be prescribed special medication such as bisphosphonates, parathyroid hormone or denosumab to treat your osteoporosis.
  5. Monitoring – you should have a repeat DEXA scan in 2 years time

Feeling Pain from Your Injuries?

Dr Alan Cheung is a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon specialising in Sports Injuries such as torn ligaments and tendons, and cartilage injury in the knee, hip and shoulder, Adult Joint Reconstruction including total and partial Knee Replacement and Total Hip Replacement for osteoarthritis, and Robotic Surgery (Makoplasty, Navio and Robodoc systems). He has also received extensive training in trauma (fixing broken bones) and musculoskeletal tumour (bone cancer) surgery.

Top