主要手术方案

运动创伤运动

和许多自己的病患一样,张天龙医生是一个热衷于运动的人,他读大学时参加田径和橄榄球运动,目前,他还参加综合格斗(Evolve MMA)。他还喜欢打高尔夫球、滑雪和骑脚踏车。他是一位体育赛场医生,也是国际赛事,如汇丰银行世界七人制橄榄球系列赛的赛日医生。此外,他是英国运动与运动医学系的成员。

我们医治哪一种类型的运动员?– 来者不拒
在国际骨科诊所(IOC),我们医治各年龄层和各能力级别的运动员。他们参加各种类型的体育活动。这些运动员当中就包括了:周末足球员、60多岁的铁人选手、国家队成员和世界武术冠军。我们诊所的宗旨是尽全力给您最好的照料,让您尽快(和安全地)继续您所热爱的运动。我们也了解,不是每个病患都需要动手术,单独进行物理治疗也可以很好地复原。

专项运动物理治疗
我们了解到,每位运动员的身体状况都不一样。每项运动都有它特别的要求,需要运动员把重心放在身体的个别部位。这也就是为什么国际奥委会与专项运动物理治疗师合作,这些运动物理治疗师是来自不同运动领域的专家。如此一来,病患能更好地了解他们的受伤情况和治疗方案,并让一个高度了解他们运动领域的专人来照顾他们。

有哪些类型的运动损伤?我需要动手术吗?
所有类型的肌肉骨骼损伤都能到IOC医治。这些情况就包括:不需要动手术就能医治的肌腱或韧带扭伤和部分撕裂,以及完全撕裂、骨折和关节磨损或脱臼这类需要手术的情况。医生会对你进行详细的病史询问和身体检查,并且极有可能安排你在损伤部位做造影检查,如X 光和MRI 扫描。在大多数情况下,非手术治疗的方案将包括做专项运动物理治疗 、服用止痛药和使用支具。类固醇注射有时也对病患有帮助。

不需要动手术的常见情况

跑步者膝关节(髌股疼痛综合征)
跑步者膝关节或髌股疼痛综合征(PFPS)是指膝盖下方软骨受到刺激,导致膝盖前部疼痛。这通常发生在长距离跑步、长时间坐着、下山或下楼梯时。危险因素包括脚掌过度内旋、股四头肌或臀肌无力。

跟腱炎
跟腱将腓肠肌(小腿后部的两块大肌肉)连接到脚后跟。重复性的压力可能导致肌腱发炎(肌腱炎)。快速增加训练强度和训练时间以及紧绷无力的小腿肌肉是诱发跟腱炎的因素。

髂胫束综合征
髂胫束位于大腿外侧,从臀部到膝盖。跑步会导致髂胫束在膝盖大腿骨外侧摩擦,造成疼痛。脚掌过度内旋、髋关节和外展肌以及臀部肌肉无力都会造成这种情况。

足底筋膜炎
足底筋膜是脚底的一个厚带组织,从脚跟连接到脚趾。足底筋膜上的小撕裂会导致脚后跟和足部内侧疼痛,特别是在早晨的时候。跑步者过度内旋或仰卧(脚向内/向外滚动)、足弓异常和里程数快速增加都会增加他们患病的风险。如果病患全面性休息不运动,康复时间一般是介入3个月到1年之间。

腿筋损伤
腿筋肌肉位于大腿后部,帮助弯曲膝盖。肌腱疼痛发生在肌肉无力的时候,或是因为被更强的股四头肌压到。腿筋损伤的情况包括扭伤,一般病患需要休息几天才能康复。如果腿筋完全撕裂,病患则需要几个月才能痊愈。

外胫夹
胫骨夹板或胫骨内侧应力综合征指的是沿着胫骨内边界(肌肉相连处)的疼痛。它在跑步新手中很常见,原因是新手跑得太快,或是穿了不合适的鞋。

疲劳性骨折
疲劳性骨折是因为骨骼重复劳损而引起的。它通常发生在胫骨、脚和脚跟。过度训练是主要的危险因素。其他如维生素D和营养缺乏、低骨密度和低热量摄入等潜在情况也可能是您患上疲劳性骨折的原因。

需要动手术的常见情况

想了解更多相关信息,请浏览网站“服务”部分。

半月板撕裂
半月板是位于大腿骨和胫骨之间的减震垫。运动时的扭动动作有可能撕裂半月板,导致疼痛、肿胀和膝关节运动受限。在这种情况下,修补或去除半月板会帮助您解决问题。

前交叉韧带撕裂
前交叉韧带是一种绳状结构,可防止胫骨在旋转和侧移运动中滑出位置。如果您的前交叉韧带撕裂,你将无法稳定地使用膝盖来进行你喜欢的运动,并需要前交叉韧带重建方案解决问题。

肩袖撕裂
肩袖撕裂肩袖是一组有助于移动和稳定肩关节的肌肉。患肩袖撕裂是非常痛苦的,你无法举起你的手臂或让手碰到背部。你会发现一些简单的事情,如穿衣和洗衣服会变得困难,而您进行体育活动根本是不可能的事。

软骨损伤
软骨是大关节(如髋关节、膝关节和肩关节)的内衬,主要帮助我们在日常生活中平稳地进行活动。当我们跌倒或受伤时都会损伤软骨。如果身体供血不足,软骨愈合不好,未能痊愈的软骨将会随着时间导致骨关节炎。如果您在非手术治疗下依然感觉疼痛,那么微骨折的“钥匙孔”手术将有助您解决问题,就是在骨头上钻一些小孔,使软骨愈合。

阿基里斯腱撕裂
跟腱将小腿肌肉连接到跟骨。在我们行走、跑步和跳跃的过程中,它允许脚(足底弯曲)的推离动作是很重要的。阿基里斯腱撕裂可能在您运动时突然发生,让您感觉到后腿部位被拉扯,造成您无法正常行走。医生会为您进行临床检查,有时还会安排您做超声波检查来诊断您是否有跟腱撕裂。跟腱修复后,您能正常地进行和跑步与跳跃有关的运动。

运动创伤手术常见问题

手术造成的伤疤有多大?
大多数的运动创伤手术都是通过使用手术望远镜系统来进行小“钥匙孔”切口。因此,大多数的伤疤会随着时间逐渐消失,留下不明显的痕迹。

我在手术过程中会感觉疼痛吗?
在手术过程中您是全身麻醉,在熟睡状态,而手术后您会服用强力止痛药。大多数的病患在动了腿部运动创伤手术后立即就能站立。有的甚至在当天出院。

手术后,我需要多久的时间康复?
这取决于您动的是什么手术。伤口需要大约十天的时间才能愈合,而关节周围可能会肿胀好几个星期。手术后不久你会开始物理治疗。视个别程序而定,病患可能需要几周到几个月的时间才能运动。大多数的病患,视他们的职业而定,能在2-6周后回返工作岗位。

饱受运动伤害的疼痛煎熬?

张天龙医生是一名骨外科顾问医生,擅长医治运动损伤,如韧带和肌腱撕裂,膝、髋和肩的软骨损伤,成人关节重建(包括全膝和部分膝关节置换术),骨关节炎的全髋关节置换术,以及机器人手术(MAKOplasty、Navio和Robodoc系统)。他也在创伤(修复骨折)和骨关节肌肉肿瘤(骨癌)手术方面受过广泛的专业培训。

Top

key procedureSports Surgery

Like many of his patients, Dr Alan Cheung is a keen sportsman, having participated in athletics and rugby at college, and in mixed martial arts (Evolve MMA) currently. He also enjoys golf, skiing and cycling. He is a Ringside Doctor for One Championship and pitchside doctor for international events such as the HSBC Sevens and SuperRugby. He is a member of the Faculty of Sports and Exercise Medicine, UK.

Which Athletes Do We Treat? – Everyone is welcome
At International Orthopaedic Clinic (IOC), we see many athletes of all ages and abilities involved in all types of sport. These include the weekend soccer player, the ironman competitor in their 60’s, members of national teams, and martial arts World Champions. Our philosophy is the give you the best possible care to get you back to your desired sport as soon (and as safely) as possible. We also understand that not everyone needs surgery and may recover well with physiotherapy alone.

Sports Specific Physiotherapy
We understand that each athlete is different in terms of their body size, shape and how their body functions. Every sport has unique demands that are placed upon different parts of the body. This is why IOC partners with sports specific physiotherapists who are experts in their own sporting fields. This enables patients to understand their injury and treatment better, as well as having someone who understands their sport at a high level looking after them.

What kinds of injuries are seen and will I need surgery?
All types of musculoskeletal injury are seen at IOC. These range from sprains and partial tears of tendons or ligaments which may managed without surgery, to full tears, broken bones and worn out or dislocated joints which may require surgery. A careful history and examination will be performed, and you will likely need some form of imaging such as an XR and/or MRI of the affected area. In most cases a trial of non-operative management will be trialled involving sports specific physiotherapy, painkillers and bracing. Steroid injections can sometimes be helpful.

COMMON CONDITIONS THAT MAY NOT REQUIRE SURGERY

Runner’s Knee (Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome)
Runner’s Knee or Patellofemoral Pain Syndrome (PFPS) is irritation of the cartilage under the kneecap, resulting in pain at the front of the knee. This typically occurs after long runs, sitting for long periods, or whilst going down hills or stairs. Risk factors include overpronation (excessive rolling of the foot inward), and weak quadriceps or gluteal muscles.

Achilles Tendonitis
The Achilles tendon connects the gastrocnemius muscles (2 large muscles at the back of the calf) to the heel. Repetitive stress may cause inflammation of the tendon (tendonitis). Rapid increases in training intensity and duration, as well as weak tight calf muscles are predisposing factors for achilles tendonitis.

Iliotibial Band Syndrome (ITBS)
The iliotibial band is found on the outside of the thigh, running from the hip to the knee. Running causes the iliotibial band to rub on the outside of the thigh bone at the knee causing pain. Foot overpronation, weak hip and abductor and gluteal muscles can contribute.

Plantar Fasciitis
The plantar fascia is a thick band of tissue in the sole of your foot, which connects your heel to your toes. Small tears in the plantar fascia cause pain along the heel and inside of your foot, particularly in the morning. Runners with excessive pronation or supination (rolling of foot inwards / outwards), abnormal foot arches, and rapid increases in mileage are at risk. Recovery time with complete rest can take 3 months to a year.

Hamstring Injuries
The hamstring muscles are located at the back of the thigh, and help bend the knees. Hamstring pain may occur when the muscles are weak, and overpowered by the stronger quadriceps muscles. The spectrum of hamstring injury includes sprains which may take several days of rest to recover, to a full blown tear which takes months to heal.

Shinsplints
Shinsplints or medial tibial stress syndrome refers to pain along the inner border of your shin bone, where muscles attach. They are common in new runners and indicate too much running too quickly, or the wrong type of shoes.

Stress Fractures
These occur through repetitive strain on the bone and commonly occur in the shinbone, feet and heel. Overtraining is a major risk factor. Underlying conditions such as vitamin D and nutritional deficiency, low bone density, and low calorie intake can also be responsible.

COMMON CONDITIONS THAT MAY REQUIRE SURGERY

For more information on these conditions, please see the SERVICES section of the website.

Meniscal Tear
The menisci are shock absorbing pads that sit between your thigh bone and shin bone. Twisting movements during sports may tear the meniscus and lead to pain, swelling and restriction of knee movement. In this circumstance you may benefit from repair or removal of the torn meniscus.

Anterior Cruciate Ligament Tear (ACL)
The ACL is a rope like structure that prevents the shin bone from sliding out of position during pivoting and sidestepping movements. If you have a torn ACL, and your unstable knee is preventing you from playing sports you enjoy then you may benefit from an ACL reconstruction.

Rotator Cuff Tear
The rotator cuff are a group of muscles that help move and stabilise your shoulder joint. A rotator cuff tear may be extremely painful and stop you from lifting your arm up or behind your back. You may find simple activities like dressing and washing difficult, and playing sports impossible.

Cartilage Injury
Cartilage is the lining of large joints such as the hip, knee and shoulder which allows smooth movement during day to day activities and sports. A fall or injury may injure your cartilage. Cartilage has a poor blood supply and does not heal well. Failure to treat a cartilage injury may lead to osteoarthritis over time. If pain persists despite non-surgical management, you may benefit from a keyhole surgery procedure called microfracture where tiny holes are drilled into the bone to allow cartilage healing to take place.

Achilles tendon tear
The Achilles tendon connects the calf muscles to the heel bone. It is important to allow pushing off motion of the foot (plantarflexion) during walking, running and jumping. An achilles tendon tear can occur spontaneously during sports and can feel a kick to the back of the leg. You will have difficulty walking properly. Your doctor will diagnose the tear through clinical examination and sometimes an ultrasound. You may benefit from repair of the achilles tendon if you play sports involving running and jumping.

FAQ’s About Sports Surgery

How big is the scar?
Most sports surgery operations are through small ‘keyhole’ incisions using a telescope system. Most scars fade away and are not noticeable over time.

Does it hurt?
You will be asleep during the surgery and will receive strong painkillers after the surgery. Most people can stand straightway following a sports surgery to the leg. Some can go home the same day.

How long does it take to recover?
It depends on the type of surgery you have. Wounds take around ten days to heal and there may be swelling around the joint for several weeks. You will start physiotherapy soon after the surgery. Return to sports can take weeks to months depending upon the procedure. Most can return to work after 2-6 weeks, depending upon their occupation.

Feeling Pain from Your Injuries?

Dr Alan Cheung is a Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon specialising in Sports Injuries such as torn ligaments and tendons, and cartilage injury in the knee, hip and shoulder, Adult Joint Reconstruction including total and partial Knee Replacement and Total Hip Replacement for osteoarthritis, and Robotic Surgery (Makoplasty, Navio and Robodoc systems). He has also received extensive training in trauma (fixing broken bones) and musculoskeletal tumour (bone cancer) surgery.

Top